Sunday Afternoon Baking

Newly inspired by my friend Sarah’s delicious chocolate candy cane cupcakes and my soon-to-be-father-in-law’s penchant for shortbread cookies, I decided to go a little crazy in the kitchen yesterday.

Baking

I made the cookies from this recipe, and while they are pretty good, I will definitely not be making them again. I’m thinking that next time, I’m going to try a recipe with cherries instead.

The cupcakes (and icing) were just from a box (and can). But I stole Sarah’s idea and crushed up some cherry candy canes, and some regular minty candy canes, and mixed them into the icing (two separate batches). They cherry ones were delicious, but the minty ones didn’t provide the oomph I wanted. All I could taste was the store-bought icing, and I haaaaaate store bought icing. Next time, I’ll make my own from scratch.

Leave a Reply

