Wedding Dress

On a happier note, I bought a wedding dress this week! In Chesterville, no less! I am the most socially awkward person on earth, and let me tell ya, dress shopping was a bit of a challenge. Not only did I have two strangers helping me out (I don’t even like asking for help finding a sweater size at a department store!), but I had them DRESSING me. Picture me, cold, fat and humiliated, arms raised (with at least a days worth of stubble on my armpits), clad in nothing but my underwear, letting two women hoist dress after dress over my head. I didn’t realize how heavy these dresses are, either, and I most certainly didn’t anticipate it taking like ten minutes just to put one on. There was a lot of tugging, threading and tying involved. It was a very looooong process, especially because I felt obligated to try everything on even though I knew right off the bat what dress I wanted.

I spent the whole day with my arms held out a little so as not to get sweat on these thousand dollar dresses. I think that was the most awkward part of all. It’s HOT wearing those damn things, especially given the added weight and just the social pressure of having to deal with the whole wedding shopping situation. And I was sweating through it all. Gross.

Honestly, I had no idea that I would be buying a dress this week. I had no money, and I was shopping in Chesterville of all places. I was more or less just going to window shop, check out what kind of styles looked best on me, and give my mom and sister some input as to what I was going to buy because I always kind of pictured me making the final decision with Karen here in Peterborough.

But then, I found what I think is THE dress. I saw it the minute I walked into the store, and I didn’t waver the whole time. It was originally $1200 down to $900. AND, I got an off the rack discount of $100. Plus, they told me that they’d give me $100 off my veil. It was a good deal, but the selling point was really the fact that I’d never have to go wedding dress shopping again, so I jumped on it. My mom made the down payment for me (I am paying her back), and for the low low price of $250 a month, the dress is MINE.

I was super nervous about my purchase at first. I did just blow a grand on a freaking piece of clothing I’m only going to wear once, and the fact that I only tried on 12 dresses before spending all of that money made me a bit weak in the knees. The more I think about it, though, the happier I am. I only tried on a few dresses, which means that I didn’t have to agonize over which one was right for me. My limited choices made the decision really easy. Now I can focus on other, more important parts of the wedding.

Speaking of important wedding decisions! Chase and I really wanted a tiny wedding party. We each had one “best person of honour”, and one other attendant. For me, it was my sister, Whitney, as my Maid of Honour, and my friend Karen as my Bridesmaid. However, talked about it, and we agreed that we couldn’t have a wedding and NOT have our friends Lyne and Michael up there with us. Not only did we want them in our bridal party, but we wanted them to MC our reception, too. So now we have two more people supporting us from the front line, and we couldn’t be happier. I really think that including Lyne and Mike (and Whit, Karen, Rob, and Jon) was one of the best decisions we will ever make in regard to our big day. To everyone in our wedding party, if you are reading this, thank you thank you thank you!!

My Wedding Dress

Xmas With The Family

I don’t really know what to say about my trip home for Christmas. It was great, and it was terrible. I got a lot of presents (my favourite being some satellite phones for my apartment), I ate a lot of delicious food (mmmm! mom’s cooking!), and I got to see my entire family. I even unleashed 2Girls1Cup on my brother, my sister, and my sister’s boyfriend. Whit was the only one brave enough to watch the entire video and go onto 2Girls1Finger. She’s my girl!

I also found out that my mom has some kind of weird degenerative eye thing, and she is slowly going blind. And I found out that my grandma is most likely dying of lung cancer, but she won’t to go to the doctor for a biopsy to find out for sure, and she says she will refuse treatment. I was really excited for the New Year and all of the changes that are coming up in 2008, but now I’m just sad about it because I know that my grandma probably won’t be here next Christmas.

Grandma