Epilator Update

Well, it’s been awhile now since I bought my epilator, and I’ve been avoiding making an update about it because I feel obligated to post pictures and video (because I totally got Chase to document the whole experience!). As easy as it is for me to tell the world that I am a hairy spaz monkey, it’s a lot harder to provide you with a visual. That being said, there’s been a lot of demand (erm, okay, two requests) for a follow-up entry so . . . here it is. Me in all of my squeal-y, weird-face-making, furry glory:


My First Time (Warning: I swear like a pirate!)


I’ve used the epilator a few times since I made that video, and even though you see me complaining a lot on film, I have grown to love it. If you are considering buying one yourself, the first thing you should know, if you couldn’t tell from the video, is that it does hurt. A LOT. It’s a weird, stinging, shocking feeling. I, personally, think that it feels like you’re being electrocuted, but Chase (who tried it on himself) didn’t think it was that bad. He has really light and thin hair, though, so I think the level of pain you experience depends on how thick your hair is. If you are considering ways to rip your uglies out at the root, but you’re afraid of the pain, I suggest waxing because even though it hurts, at least it’s over quickly. This thing takes FOREVER to get all of your hair. You have to pass over the same patch of skin for ages before you get it all. It took me about 3 hours to do one calf the first time (I think your time may vary depending on the thickness of your hair and how big of a wuss you are). I have never successfully completed a full leg in one sitting. I usually do my shins, and then a few days later I tackle everything else. Be prepared to spend a lot of time on this!!

I also suggest doing this in the bathtub or on a floor that is easily swept because the epilator doesn’t have anything to collect the hair, and you’ll be left with a small pile that looks like, in my case, a small furry animal. Eeewwwww.

Okay, so those are the cons. On with the pros, because there are a lot of them! In fact, mid-May, Chase and I made some last-minute plans to visit his parents (and their hot tub!), and I didn’t have time to epilate so I shaved instead. And then – I’m not embarrassed to admit it – I cried (and I may or may not have thrown a mini tantrum). It was like every other experience I’ve ever had with a razor – my skin broke out into a rash, I was stubble-y the minute I got out of the shower, and it grew back in less than a day (seriously, I’m a beast!). I was pretty amazed with how good my legs looked after epilating the first time, but that whole shaving experience sealed the deal. I will never ever use a razor again if I can help it!

I like the epilator because my hairlessness lasts almost two weeks (which, for me, is a freaking miracle), and I don’t get the razor burn I get with shaving. Even when I wax, I break out into a rash (not to mention all of the sticky gunk that gets left behind). Also, when you wax, you can’t really go over the same area twice without ripping skin off, but you can keep going over the same spot with the epilator and you don’t have to go back over your work with a tweezer. After epilating, I have maybe an hour of redness and then I’m good to go. It DOES hurt, but the side-effects are short-lived (aside from a few ingrown hairs, and I get them with shaving and waxing, too, so…), and it seems to get better each time I use it. My first time, I thought I was going to have to demand my money back. The second time, it was less painful and, while not pleasurable, at least I didn’t want to throw it out the window. In short, I like my epilator a lot and if you have a high pain tolerance and the time to spare, I highly recommend getting one.

Before And After
A Before and After Shot. Sadly, this photo does not accurately capture how hairy my legs really are.

20 thoughts on “Epilator Update

  1. hairy says:

    Hey I’m pretty hairy too and shaving is too consuming when it grows back in the day. I think I will try the epilator. Thanks for your review.

    1. moragandme says:

      I hear you! Sometimes I feel like I am in a never-ending battle with my hairy legs. I hope the epilator works well for you!

  2. Laurie says:

    This was extremely helpful to watch & read. I think we have similar legs and I’ve had many tantrums over shaving and never feeling fully smooth. I think my epilator is due to arrive today and I can’t wait to try it. I’ve had two children naturally and have quite a few tattoos so I hope the pain is bearable for me. Thanks so much!

    1. moragandme says:

      I am glad I could help! To be honest, to this day, I barely use it. It takes so much time and I am lazy to my very core.

      Let me know how the epilator goes for you!

  3. Anita says:

    I want to get this for my arm pits, arms and stomach XD I got lucky on the leg hair gene ‘cuz all my leg hair is blonde and sparse and I don’t even need to shave really lol, but my armpit hair is superrrr dark and grows fast so when I shave the roots still are obvious, and at the end of the day it looks like I didn’t even shave. My arms have the same hair as my legs but it’s long and bushy because like an idiot I decided to shave them one day and they grew back longer XD then my stomach, again like an idiot decided to shave it, it grew back really long and a little darker and in a masculine line, then not being able to stand my weird man stomach I shaved it a few days ago and now they’re even darker and I’m freaking out XD How long does it usually take you now?

    1. moragandme says:

      I haven’t been brave enough to do my armpits, and to be honest, I rarely use the epilator for anything other than my face anymore. I gave up on doing my legs because it always took so long – but then again, I didn’t use it consistently enough to get fast at it.

      I can totally sympathize re: arm, stomach and allover body hair. I recommend the epilator if you’re willing to put in the time (and a little bit of pain).

  4. Nice review! After I use up all my extra blades I’m going to try epilating. I don’t know what my pain tolerance is though so I’m kind of worried. I tried plucking hairs from my legs, bikini area and underarms and it didn’t hurt at all (and the hair is coarse!) so do you think I’d end up crying on my first try? xD

    1. moragandme says:

      Thank you!

      I think, if you’re okay with plucking, you should be okay with an epilator. I found it pretty painful, but I’m kind of a wimp. I don’t know if you’d cry, but definitely be prepared for some discomfort.

  5. Taylor says:

    Im using your picture of your before and after for a persuasive speech tomorrow! Im going to convince everyone to “ditch the razor, and do your legs a favor!” haha 🙂 LOVE my epilator

  6. Thank you so much for sharing your experience! (I’m late LOL)
    I seriously like that you’re honest about it!! I’m planning to buy an epilator soon so now I’m preparing myself for the GREAT PAIN by reading stories/watching videos 😀
    About these red spots after epilating, they’re only for an hour? How about the day after epilating? 🙂

  7. Nic says:

    Have you tried the Braun silk epil 7 dual??? Its an epilator that can be used wet or dry, and it also has a smoothing head which baisically has a 2bladed razor after the tweazers to get any hairs that they missed 🙂

    1. moragandme says:

      I have never heard of it, but it sounds AMAZING. I can guarantee that my next epilator is going to be a Braun.

  8. Haley says:

    I’ve been wanting to switch to epilating for so long, and your experience with it has pretty much convinced me. I wonder though, what kind do you have? I’d hate to spend a ton of money on a product that isn’t as good as it could be. Thanks!

    1. moragandme says:

      I have an old school Remington one, but I’m not sure what the model name or number is and it’s not written on the unit itself.

Leave a Reply

