It’s Smartifying: The Rorschach Test

Clearly, I need to research more before spouting off about topics I know very little about. I do it all the time, and it’s always a smartifying experience when I’m made aware of my ignorance. Tonight, for example, I learned that some things in psychology are hidden from the general public. Okay, to be honest, I have no idea if there are “some” top secret items on the shrinky agenda. . . yet – I just know of one in particular: the Rorschach ink blots.

My friend uploaded a link to this news story about a bunch of professionals getting their knickers in a knot because the original Rorschach tests were posted on Wikipedia (complete with common answers given when people are asked what they see in the pictures). In addition to not really caring WHAT information is on the internet (the more, the better is my motto), I failed to see why anyone would care that a few nonsense images were posted online (they weren’t even dirty!). I was all like “What’s the big deal?! I could go to the library and look up that exact same information in a psychology book. IDIOTS!!”.

But then my friend pointed out that you CAN’T find that information in the library – not the original ink blots, anyway. Apparently, the psychologists keep them under wraps. Which, I guess makes sense if you don’t want to influence what people see in the images, or if you don’t want psychos to trick you into thinking they see a butterfly on the plate when really they see their dad skull-fucking a corpse or something. If I was nuts, I’d totally lie and tell people I saw a vase of flowers rather than something violent or obscene.

See? I’m spouting my mouth off again. I don’t know how the mentally ill think and I don’t know the complicated scoring system (or whatever it is) that’s used to analyze patients with these tests. I’m just saying . . .

Anyway, I am really shocked that this kind of information is kept from us lay people. I mean, I expect the doctors who are hired by pharmaceutical companies to cover up the cure for AIDS because that entire system is corrupt, but I never expected the mental health community to keep something as seemingly trivial (to me) as ink blots from the public.

It raised a bunch of questions for me. Like, who has access to the original Rorschach plates? Do you have to promise not to show anyone? And, most importantly, what else are the psychologists keeping from us?! I MUST KNOW!!

One thought on “It’s Smartifying: The Rorschach Test

Leave a Reply

