HAUNTED!!

I never thought I’d say this, but I would love to live downtown Toronto. It’s something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately, especially when I am able to navigate around the city with confidence and relative ease. Walking around with Lindsay yesterday and pointing out all of the cute, old (HAUNTED!) buildings I’d like to move to only solidified my desire to live downtown.

In a weird way, moving to Toronto has made me a more competent adult. It forced me into situations I wouldn’t normally have to face, and in doing so, has boosted my confidence. I don’t worry about being lost anymore. I don’t freak out in large crowds of people. I am able to go into a coffee shop – by myself – and order a latte.

I know that in a few years, I am going to be an old married lady living in the boonies (moving back to the outskirts of Ottawa is in our 5-year plan), and I would like the experience of living DOWNTOWN before I retire to the countryside. Unfortunately, it’s not in the cards for me. BUT, if all obstacles were removed (my dog [speaking of which, seriously, do you know anyone who wants one? Dexter is free to a good home], my partner’s 2-hour commute [if we moved downtown], the car, Chase’s aversion to the city, etc. etc.), I would SOOO live in a cute little old building downtown (maybe in The Village – if only because even their street signs are painted with rainbows – or somewhere near Kensington Market because it sounds funkalicious).

And while I’m on the “wishing for crap I can’t have” train, I’d also like to go back to school and become a teacher. Or I’d like to win the lottery. Actually, I’d just like to win the lottery (a few million would do me just fine, but I’d settle for 100K).

5 thoughts on “HAUNTED!!

  1. jp says:

    Mir I think you’d be a great inner-city school teacher! 😉 I can’t wait for the day that Chase develops a newfound love for the city and ya’ll move down the street from me.
    Now…I think they have tours of the ‘haunted’ old parts of downtown around Halloween for like 10 dollars. I did one last year and it was semi-lame….but kind of fun! http://www.muddyyorktours.com/ghosts.html

    1. moragandme says:

      I remember because my pregnant ass went, too!! Remember when I thought that tour dude was serious about living in that historic building (MacKenzie’s house, I think)?! I think we should do it again this year when I’m not so tired/fat.

Leave a Reply

