Holier Than Thou Mass Facebook Status of the Day

Holier Than Thou Mass Facebook Status of the Day:

Every Christmas you always hear people saying what they want and bought. Well this is what i want, i want people who are sick with no cure to be able to be cured. I want children with no families, to be adopted, I want people to never have to worry about food & shelter & heat. Now, lets see how many people re-post this who actually care. I have a feeling I am gonna see almost no re-posts.

This post angers me on several levels, the first of which being how ridiculously backhanded it is. Here’s what I wish I could say to the people who have posted this to their Facebook status:

I am offended by the insinuation that if I talk about the Christmas tradition of giving gifts to my loved ones, or if I fail to re-post this passive aggressive status, that I don’t care about those less fortunate than myself. I resent the fact that you are implying that you are better than me and the majority of the people on your friends list – “I have a feeling I am gonna see almost no re-posts”?! Get over yourself, you holier than thou asshole!

Also, what are you doing to help the sick, the poor, the abused? Have you contributed to a charity this holiday season? Have you donated your money or time to the food bank or Toys for Tots or the Cancer Society or any other charitable organization? It’s one thing to SAY you care, especially in a public forum via a chain letter equivalent designed to make you feel bad for not re-posting, and quite another to SHOW you care by doing something real and concrete to ease someone else’s pain.

Your time would be better spent actually helping the people in your community rather than putting down your friends and family on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

