Pancake Tuesday!

It’s Pancake Tuesday, y’all! Fat Tuesday! Shrove Tuesday! My favourite Tuesday of the year – and my favourite religious holiday. There is something magical about eating your weight in syrup soaked pancakes and bacon* with friends (which I did) and vowing to give up some random vice tomorrow. And you know how much I love to give shit up in the name of a self-betterment project!

*This year, we had turkey bacon – my first ever time trying it. Turkey bacon sounds wrong because it is, but it tastes like bologna and it’s delicious. Wrong, but delicious.

This year, I’m giving up complaining for Lent because I often feel bad about how negative I am. I am a whiner to my very core. I am always focused on the things I don’t want to do, or how miserable I am, or the things I think are wrong with me or, you know, EVERYTHING. So, I am going to try to be positive – not just in what I say, but in how I think.

I feel like I should use these last couple of hours of Shrove Tuesday to complain, just to get it all out of my system, but I can’t come up with anything really good. I’m tired, my dog is driving me INSANE with his running around and whining and chasing his tail and being a general idiot, my eye is itchy, I’m tired, I don’t want to edit and upload a video tonight but I kind of think I will anyway, I have a lot of work to do tomorrow and I hope I can get it all done in time for this horror show of a conference call I have to be on at SIX O’CLOCK AT NIGHT even though I have no childcare and will be taking the call while my daughter whines for my attention through the whole thing, and I’m probably going to cancel on bookclub and pretend that I have some work thing to do (which is partly true, if you count the shitty conference call at 6), but in reality I just don’t have anything to take with me for the potluck and I didn’t read the book because I forgot about it and I spent my time CLEANING instead because my landlord had to show my house today because I don’t make enough money to live here so I have to move and Chase is sick and I am a bad wife and I want to go to bed. Did I mention that I’m tired?

Whew. That feels better.

 

4 thoughts on “Pancake Tuesday!

  1. TYu says:

    Thanks for the shout-out missy! And I wish you luck with your anti-complain campaign! PS> I love turkey bacon again. My overdose was only temporary… wohoo!

  2. moragandme says:

    Hardy har har, Mom!

    No problem, JP and TYu! I haven’t been overly successful yet with the lack of complaints – I keep slipping. Sometimes complaints don’t seem like complaints even when they are. For example, is commenting about how crappy the weather is with someone who is also complaining about the weather an actual complaint, or just small talk?

Leave a Reply

