My Weekend: Awesome and Not Awesome

Awesome:
Jeremy, Daniel, Teresa and Ian took me out for a birthday lunch at Yonge and Eg!

Not Awesome:
I dragged my friends to China and back looking for the perfect Mexican restaurant. The first place didn’t have any chicken or guacamole (WHAT KIND OF MEXICAN RESTAURANT RUNS OUT OF CHICKEN AND GUAC?!), the second (and farthest) was closed, and the third was more like a fast food joint than the real Mexican sit-down restaurant I had in mind.

I’m not a big fan of those burrito-type places where you stand in line and have someone assemble your meal in front of you. There are too many choices (Do you want beans? What kind of beans? What kind of hot sauce? Etc., etc.).  I don’t want OPTIONS. The only decision I want to make is “chicken chimi”.

When I realized that Mexican food wasn’t going to be on the menu, I may or may not have pouted, whined, and made my friends feel generally uncomfortable while I sent Lindsay sad, melodramatic texts complaining that my only birthday wish – a chimichanga – wasn’t coming true. Me? A brat? Never!

Awesome:
Lindsay and Chase gathered my nearest and dearest into our apartment for a surprise party while I was enjoying a delicious lunch at a very un-Mexican all-day breakfast place. So nice! Julie made her famous cupcakes, the boys loaded up on booze, and someone decorated with balloons.

You know what else is awesome? I have amazing friends and family. They planned a party and braved the traffic and TTC to get up here to attend. My sister and her husband even drove from Ottawa to see me.

Not Awesome:
I kept everyone waiting for hours before the party officially started because, giddy with the prospect of a baby-free afternoon, I insisted on loafing around Yonge and Eg looking for books, coffee, and a private bathroom (thanks, T!). Okay, that part was pretty awesome for me, but it wasn’t so awesome for my friends who waited around for 3 hours for me to get home.

Awesome:
I had no idea about the party.

Not Awesome:
I am retarded because I didn’t recognize my sister’s car (which was parked in my driveway), and the pile of shoes at my front door when I got home from lunch.

Awesome:
My sister gave me Charlene Harris’ Dead Reckoning, the new Sookie Stackhouse book, for my birthday and as soon as everyone was gone and Whit was in bed, I read the whole thing.

Not Awesome:
I was up until 4am reading a smutty vampire novel (where I kind of fell out of love with my favourite character), instead of reading that damn Mr. Tiddlywinks* book I was going to start for my book club. The lack of sleep made me feel like a zombie all day Sunday.

*Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

Awesome:
I spent Sunday morning with my brother, sister, and brother-in-law who I don’t see nearly as often as I would like because they live so far away.

Not Awesome:
I spent Sunday afternoon and evening at the hospital with a 1 year-old who had an asthma attack.

photo by Chase

Awesome:
The hospital staff was really nice.

Not Awesome:
We were there for 6 hours.

Awesome:
Whitney was in fairly good spirits considering the reason we were in the hospital and the length of our stay.

Not Awesome:
“Good spirits” means she was jacked up like a 4 year old ADHD kid after snorting an 8-ball of coke – and she had to be handled as such. Do you know how many things are in a hospital that children are not allowed to touch?! EVERYTHING!

photo by Chase

Awesome:
The doctor covered more bases in this visit. The last time we were there, they listened to Whitney’s chest with a stethoscope and diagnosed her with “reactive airways*” right away; they GUESSED that she was having an asthma attack “probably triggered by something viral”. This time they took x-rays of her chest. They came to the same conclusion, but at least I felt they were thorough.

*From what I’ve gathered, “reactive airways” is basically a term for baby asthma. They can’t call it asthma asthma because kids under 2 (or is it under 5?) can’t be tested for it yet.

Not Awesome:
It took 6 hours, Whitney was exposed to radiation, and now my baby is being inundated with a bunch of antibiotics and steroids. That scares me a little bit – especially the oral steroids and the puffers. What does that do to a kid? Will she become dependent on them? Will she grow arms like Popeye and develop a mean case of ‘roid rage?

Awesome:
Getting antibotics. Even though I don’t really like to use them, I am glad that we have something to knock this crap out of Whit’s system.

Not Awesome:
Being prescribed the exact antibiotic Whitney is allergic to – despite having this allergy clearly stated a) in the triage nurse’s notes, and b) on Whit’s file. I noticed this mistake just as we were about to exit the doors of the hospital, and we had to go all the way back to see the doctor again after what was already a hellish 6 hour visit.

Awesome:
The healthcare was free!

Not Awesome:
I still haven’t sorted out my benefits so between the hospital parking and Whitney’s prescriptions, our little trip to the ER cost us over $80.

Awesome:
I am staying home from work today!

Not Awesome:
…to tend to a sick child. To make things worse, I am missing work on a day that basically amounts to an elementary school field trip – I was going to travel offsite, go to some workshops that are kind of fun in their novelty (but boring at the same time), and goof off with my friends. Also, free food. I can’t believe I am missing out on free food!

Photo by Chase

**All photos by Chase

2 thoughts on “My Weekend: Awesome and Not Awesome

  1. TYu says:

    Awww…. that stuffed doggy with Whit’s hospital bracelet is SO SADD!!!! She’s a trooper, though. The ‘roids will almost guarantee that she and London will be their own little gang at school! Throwing all the cute toddlers around and giving them noogies 😉

Leave a Reply

