From the Vase*: If Only I Could Get Away With It…

Topic From the Vase*: Things we wish we could get away with, but know we never would/should (i.e. punching people who block subway doors).

There are SO MANY impossible things I wish I could get away with – nothing as violent as Mavis‘ fantasies about beating up on strangers, though. Not that I can’t be violent, myself. I’m just too self-centered to focus on people I don’t know – waste of time! Instead, my wishes are all about me me me. For example, I wish  I could get away with not paying my student loans. I wish I was thin enough and pretty enough to get away with wearing my old, frumpy clothes without looking like white trash (in fact, now that I’m on this topic, I wish I could get away with wearing my pajamas 24/7). I wish I could get away with working from home whenever I feel like it without the entire office assuming I am not doing any work. I wish I could get away with never shaving again. I wish I could get away with looking cool while I listen to Loretta Lynn.

Right now, the biggest thing I wish I could get away with is spending a whole weekend by myself without having to think about or take care of anyone else. It will never happen because I have a child who needs me and a partner who works most weekends, but my ideal vacation takes place right in my apartment. I would stay up as late as I wanted and sleep in until at least noon. I’d read and surf the internet and nap. I’d go to the library and out for coffee and come home to read, nap, and surf the internet again. A whole weekend of selfish nothingness. Bliss!  

*Mavis and I wrote blog topics on a bunch of stickies and filled a vase with them. The rule is, once you’ve chosen a topic (at random), you have to write about it within the week. 

2 thoughts on “From the Vase*: If Only I Could Get Away With It…

Leave a Reply

