WWJD Diet Update: I Quit

I don’t think my personality lends itself well to dieting. I love the idea of depriving myself of crap, of toughing it out, of going through hell for a predetermined period of time only to return victorious, healthy, and 20 lbs lighter, but the truth is, I can’t deny myself for long. Dieting makes me want to be baaaad – two-week bender of chocolate, pop, and sugar-laden chai teas bad. I don’t just fall off the wagon; I leap off like a suicidal madwoman, kill the horses, and set the buggy on fire.

The only way I’m going to lose weight and be more healthy is by making very tiny, incremental changes to my lifestyle. I know myself and I know it’s not going to happen overnight – certainly not in 40 days.

Furthermore, obsessing about my weight isn’t getting me anywhere. I don’t have fun doing it, my friends and family are sick of hearing it, and I have better things to do than waste my energy on something that isn’t really a problem. True, I would like to look better in a bathing suit, but my BMI is still well within spec and aside from my crappy diet, my weight itself doesn’t pose any health issues for me.

Also, I would be very, very sad if, 10 years from now, my daughter echos my words and starts complaining that she’s fat. I don’t want to teach her that happiness is looking like an air-brushed model.

I hid my scale, and I’m working on making small decisions (i.e – deciding to eat fruit instead of chocolate, deciding to take the dog for a walk, etc. etc.) every day that will set a better example for my kid.

That being said, I am not anti-diet – I’m just against dieting for me because I think it does the opposite of what I intend it to do. The WWJD weight loss competition ends on July 3rd, so I’ll definitely weigh in for the finale. Cointrin has been doing soooo good – he’s been working with a naturopath, doing a cleanse, and kicking some serious butt. I love hearing about it and I’ll never tire of other people’s self-betterment projects. This is just one self-betterment project I’ll be giving up on*.

*Although, I reserve the right to change my mind and do some kind of weight loss thing in the future. I did, afterall, give up weight loss almost a year ago and here I am. We all know that my hypocrisy knows no bounds.

3 thoughts on “WWJD Diet Update: I Quit

  1. TYu says:

    Yay! An updated entry! This has made me sooo happy! Also, I am all for you making lasting, lifelong updates to become healthier. Way more sustainable than dieting. Weight-loss and health experts already know dieting is the devil (and not effective in the long term).

    Also, recent studies suggest that a healthy diet is a bigger factor in maintaining a consistent weight than exercise.

  2. Nick says:

    Miranda… I like your approach. I’m going to reallocate much of my energy to apathy, greed and awesome jedi mind tricks.

    Peace…

    -Nick

Leave a Reply

