First Book Club – Tipping Point and Mad Bean Cafe Reviews

Cointrin, Mavis and I have started a 3-person book club*, quite possibly the most informal club of all time, where the aim is to read 10 books from some list Cointrin found on the internet and discuss them in various independently owned coffee shops in the GTA. My own personal goal with this project isn’t to become like, an informed, well-read individual, but to develop an air of pretentiousness and a taste for fair trade coffee.

*By “started a book club” I mean Cointrin mentioned that he wanted to read the books on the Modern Classics list and Mavis and I insisted we join him and then blog about it.

I love everything about our club – the half-assed-ness of the whole thing, the discussions, the baby-free outings, the venues, the warm feeling of self-importance I get when I say “my book club” – but the issue I have is blogging about it. I want to blog about it – I WILL blog about it. The problem is blogging about it and making it interesting. Because book reviews (reviews of any kind) can be so soooooo boring. I’ll keep them brief.

The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell

I liked it. The end.

.

.

.

Just kidding (about the end part, not the liking it part).

I don’t know where I got the impression that this was about creating social change – was it on the dust cover or something? – but I found that it didn’t live up to my expectations in that regard. I thought the case studies were interesting on their own and I liked the book for its bits and pieces, but the overall message didn’t make a big impact on me.

I really did enjoy it, though. As far as non-fiction books go, it was a quick read.

The Mad Bean Cafe

Awesome website. Totally cute cafe. Nice service. Not expensive (I got a cup of loose leaf chai tea for under $2). Love love love their steam punk theme and the fact that they sell used books as well as paintings and jewelry from local artists.

The Mad Bean was pretty empty and very small, which made it painfully obvious that everyone else in the joint (namely the two servers and some weird hippy woman who wanted to charge $10 to teach us some breathing exercises) had no choice but to hear us discuss our books and gossip. Aaaawkward.

Awkwardness aside, I love that this was our first book club venue. I was looking for pretentiousness and, while the Mad Bean didn’t seem snobby at all (how could it- it was empty), the crazy lady totally made up for it by soliciting us to take part in her breathing “event” and handing out fortune-like pieces of paper that said stuff in highlighter like “Love, appreciate, be grateful… watch your life transform!”. I wish someone had actually taken part in her event because it would have been fun to watch her in action and also because I felt terrible when she left without a single customer.

Links:

Read Cointrin’s book club rundown (complete with book list) here

Read Mavis’ review here

One thought on “First Book Club – Tipping Point and Mad Bean Cafe Reviews

  1. jp says:

    This made me lol!

    “My own personal goal with this project isn’t to become like, an informed, well-read individual, but to develop an air of pretentiousness and a taste for fair trade coffee.”

Leave a Reply

