Kitchen Organization: Making Room for Kiddie Dishes

Sooo… I have a problem. Several problems.

1. I have a small kitchen, with very limited cupboard space.

2. My kids keep accumulating dishes and sippy cups.

3. Those dishes and sippy cups are taking over my entire kitchen.

Also, I have random items taking up valuable real estate on my teeny tiny counter.

coffee_press

Today, I finally did something about my cupboard situation because I was sick of knocking over my precariously piled plastic tableware every time I wanted an “adult” bowl or plate.

cupboard_closeup

I had to do a bit of a kitchen shuffle, but it was well worth it, and I am happy to say that the whole project cost me exactly $0. Go me!

Because I’m a total nerd for home organization blogs, I thought I’d share some “before and after” pics with you.

The dish cupboard

The mess that inspired it all. I realize my “after” shot doesn’t look a whole lot neater – ideally, I’d like to pretty up the shelves by purchasing matching dishes, organizing my glasses, and clearing out the clutter on the top shelf, but that wasn’t in the cards today.

Cupboard_Collage

The new kiddie drawer

Drawer_Collage2

Ummm… Yeah. That WAS my tupperware drawer (read: my shameful secret and  Liberté container graveyard). It had been organized SEVERAL times over the past few months, but it was always a disaster within a few days. Now? It’s my favourite spot in the kitchen. I like that the sippy cups and plastic dishes (which always looked junky in my cupboards) are tucked away out of sight. I also love love love that they are in a place that is easily accessible for the kidlettes.

The basket I used to corral the snack dishes and Sprout’s dinnerware used to hold snacks in my fridge before I replaced it with a plastic one about a month ago. To be honest, it was still in my fridge this morning, not holding anything, just chilling out in there, looking all sad-like. I was happy to find a new spot for it.

The new tupperware basket

Basket_Collage2

A peek inside the big tupperware container:

basket_inside

My radiator in the kitchen is covered by a giant shelf with cubbyholes on either end. This basket, originally full of appliances, bibs, and napkins, was in the cubbyhole by my kitchen table. I took the junk out of the basket and put it directly on the shelf, and moved the basket to the opposite end.

Can I tell you that I am in love with my new tupperware organization? Finally that big, plastic container has a home that ISN’T my countertop.  And, as an added bonus, my food processor found a home on the opposite shelf, too.

Catfood_Collage

The tea cupboard

Aaah! Finally, the sippy cups are out of the tea cupboard and I have room for the homeless coffee press. Hallelujah!

Tea_Collage

Aaaanyway, there you have it! If you’re annoyed with something in your home, and the system you have in place isn’t working for you, I highly recommend re-thinking one or more of your spaces. It might take a little bit of rejigging, but you’d be surprised at how much you can get done in an hour, and at how much better you’ll feel when it’s done.

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Organization: Making Room for Kiddie Dishes

Leave a Reply

