Operation Fix That Shiz: Organizing My Home

I really want to unload all of the reasons I am hating mat leave (and life in general) right now, but I’m not going to do that for fear of revealing what a big fat whiney head I am. Instead, let’s talk about what I’m going to do to fix the stuff I am not loving so much, one issue at a time, in a little segment I’m going to call “Operation Fix That Shiz”.

Issue #1: I can’t seem to keep my house clean and the resulting chaos makes me want to kill myself1.

My goal, therefore, is to find a place for everything and put everything in its place over the upcoming week, and then I’m going to keep everything in the home I’ve found for it even if it kills me. I think seeing my drawers/shelves/closets all pretty and organized will motivate me to keep my house clean for at least a week. I have a bunch of projects underway, and a few more in mind. Like, I’ve already moved my extra soaps, shampoos and lotions from my tiny bathroom to an over-the-door organizer in my closet and now I’m going to tidy up what’s left under the vanity.

Also on my list: creating a “man space” for Chase. I’ve been throwing all of the random items (drills, tool boxes, car manuals, fishing gear, concert swag) he leaves lying around the house under the desk in Sprout’s room and calling that gigantic pile of stuff “Chasetown” (Remember “towns”, Cointrin and Linz?! It’s like that, only slightly less passive aggressive.). I hate Chasetown. I’d like to burn Chasetown to the ground and do a dance on the ashes. HOWEVER, that’s a little unfair of me because, to be honest, Chase has nowhere on the main floor to put his stuff. I have an entire desk, chest of drawers, and shelf space filled with stationary and craft supplies and that poor man has the scary basement and the trunk of his car. I’m going to rejig some areas of our home and get rid of Chasetown for good. Huzzah!

Once I’ve organized the house, I’m going to implement a daily schedule/routine so I am not a) overwhelmed all the time, and b) tempted to sell my children to the gypsies. From there, sleep training. And from there… well, the list goes on and on. One thing at a time. I’ll let you know how it goes.

1Not really. But it does make me want to hide in bed and cry.

5 thoughts on “Operation Fix That Shiz: Organizing My Home

Leave a Reply

