Library Love

I have become (more of) a library deadbeat since starting mat leave. My local TPL is located a few blocks from Butterbean’s daycare, but now that I’m not passing by 5 days a week, I can’t be trusted to return my books on time. Needless to say, my late fees are OUT OF CONTROL!! A normal person would stop using the library when they consistently prove that it’s cheaper for them to buy books rather than borrow them, but no! Not me. Nope. I just pay my fees and vow to use the library more often. Again.

Except this time, I really do plan to use the library more often. I have a new addiction to audiobooks that needs to be fed and, I don’t know if you know this, but audiobooks are freaking EXPENSIVE. Even e-audiobooks are ridiculous. I don’t know why anyone would pay $30 for an MP3.

I think the price of ebooks is similarly ridiculous. For the cost of an ePub, I can get a hard copy – an actual physical object (a bit of a tree! a nice little carbon footprint!) that I can touch and hold, that had to be manufactured and shipped and stocked and sold by a real person in an actual building. I realize that artists and the people who circulate their work need to be paid, and I am happy to do that, but when you’re taking a significant chunk out of the distribution process, I expect to see those savings reflected in the cost of my book.

Anyway, I’m getting off topic here. Audiobooks. You know what I love about audiobooks? Besides everything? Multitasking. I can listen to a book while I clean, while I crochet, while I rock a baby to sleep… I used to read a book or more a week, but since Sprout was born 9 months ago, I’ve read ONE (and that book was Fifty Shades Freed. Seriously?!). I just don’t have the time I used to when I had one kid and when I could read on my commute to work. I miss it so much!

And I miss the library a lot, too. There’s nothing I like to do more than browse books on the TPL website, put a bunch of crap on hold, and basically make the good people of the library wait on me hand and foot putting those materials aside for me. It’s like ordering from amazon.com, but free. Well, if you can remember to bring your books back on time, it’s free.  This time around, it cost me $40 (or 2 “reasonably priced” audiobook MP3s) to unblock my library account. Still, it was totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

