Fix My Picky Eater

eat
The Bean Enjoying some Chicken Fingers and Ice Cream

Next up on my “Operation Fix that Shiz” list (even though I’m totally not calling it that anymore): my preschooler’s eating habits. Butterbean barely eats, and when she does, it is from a very limited menu consisting of Cheerios, chicken nuggets, raspberries, KD, rice with mushroom soup mixed into it (which she calls “cheesy rice”, despite the fact that there is no cheese in it whatsoever), and jam sandwiches. Period. That’s the menu. Actually, she will also eat candy and ice cream, but I hardly think that counts.

It’s time to fix my picky eater.

I am basing my approach on the book French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered Ten Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters by Karen Le Billon. And by “book,” I mean this review of the book (although, to be fair, I have a real copy on hold at the library right now).

I’ve been religiously following 2 rules for the past 3 days: everyone eats at the dinner table (which is kind of a pain in the butt because my kitchen is so tiny and the space around my table is super cramped, but we’re making it work), and children eat what the adults are eating (or rather, they have to try – and swallow – at least one bite of what the adults are eating). I have also been branching out a bit to find recipes and meals we ALL enjoy.

I taught Butterbean how to set the table. I told her it was a special job that only she is allowed to do and she is still shit-her-pants excited about it. The first time she set it, she danced around the living room saying “I did it! I can’t believe I did it! I really set the taaaable!” like she had overcome some huge obstacle or mastered brain surgery or something. Wait ’til I teach her to do the dishes!

Anyway, so far so good. I’ll let you know how it goes as we tweak the rules, read the actual book, and make some progress.

2 thoughts on “Fix My Picky Eater

  1. That is a fantastic book. I read it, and loved it. My approach to eating after reading that book is “ignoring” (my favourite parenting style). You put the food in front of them, and then talk about anything but eating. No nagging, pleading or bribing. If they don’t eat, then they don’t eat. they’ll get it after a few days… Good luck!

    1. moragandme says:

      Thanks! I can’t wait to read it. I’ve been forcing her to try stuff, but I like the ignore technique much better!

Leave a Reply

