26 Easy Steps – Step 1: Core Exercises

The other day, I mentioned that I am going to do a new* blog series called “26 Easy Steps.” I have been thinking about it for weeks, and now that it’s finally time to roll it out, I’m super pumped (and nervous) about it.

26 Easy Steps is a year-long program (spanning May 2013 to May 2014), consisting of 26 consecutive projects (each 2 weeks long), designed to better my life in some way. You’ve heard that it takes 2 weeks to form a habit? Apparently, it’s been tested and studied, but I’m too lazy to cite a source for that so you’ll have to take my word for it. My goal is to develop 26 good habits that have a direct and positive impact on my life (for example, taking a daily vitamin, eating at the table as a family during mealtimes, or flossing) – anything to make my day a little smoother in the long run, or to help me achieve my goals.

These 2-week projects will be chosen on-the-fly based on what area of my life needs the most improvement as the year progresses. Just to give you an idea of my selection process, 2 weeks ago when I started planning 26 Easy Steps (read: when I started fantasizing about how awesome it would be if I could pull it off), I thought my first project would be writing in a gratitude journal every day because I wanted to begin with a positive attitude. Last week, I was feeling optimistic, but I was constantly rushing around to get the kids out the door for our various appointments and playdates, so I thought an earlier, 6am wake-up time would be a better habit to develop. This week, my back has been killing me, and I think being pain-free will have the biggest impact on my mood, so that’s what I decided I’d like to focus on first.

My chiropractor wants me to do some of her prescribed stretches and toning exercises, as well as anything to strengthen my core. Your ab muscles help to support you, and I need to do as much as I can to take the pressure off of my lower back. Unfortunately, I absolutely hate exercise, and I’ve been putting it off (which is silly considering how much it will help with the pain).

So, my first “habit” is to do 20 minutes of Pilates at least 3 days a week (on the days I am not running). That means, this week, I’ll be doing these exercises Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday. I’ll check in next Saturday to let you know how it’s going.

*The truth is, there’s nothing new about 26 Easy Steps. It’s basically just a rip off of Gretchen Rubin’s Happiness Project (or a re-hash of my 2 Weeks to Form a Habit series that barely saw the light of day, or a re-working of my horribly named Operation Fix that Shiz, or, you know, a copy of the countless half-assed schemes I had before that). I’d like to point out, I was planning things like this long before Gretchen Ruben wrote her book, but it’s easier to give her credit than to be the lady who doth protest too much. Also, it’s a good book and you should read it if you’re into self-betterment projects.

14 thoughts on “26 Easy Steps – Step 1: Core Exercises

  1. I saw this 30 day plank challenge on FB the other day. I kind of want to try it. We should do it together and FaceTime while we do it. It will be all kinds of nerdy, but a good excuse to FaceTime with you!

    1. moragandme says:

      I love that idea! HOWEVER, let me get through 2 weeks of Windsor Pilates first because I think planking might literally kill me.

    1. moragandme says:

      TECHNICALLY, planking is one of the exercises my chiro prescribed sooooooooo… ummm… okay! Let’s do it. If I die, that’s totally on you, though. 😉

      1. Ha – I promise you probably won’t die. Especially if you do 2 weeks of Pilates first and keep running

        I can’t wait to start 🙂

      2. moragandme says:

        I also heard that there was an app designed to help you build up to 100 push-ups… I think that’s next on my list after C25K. Are you interested? Please note: I haven’t actually looked for that app and it might be a figment of my imagination.

Leave a Reply

