Couch to 5K (C25K) – Weeks 5 & 6

Up until Week 5, I was doing the C25K program in silence. I was so elated to have some peace and quiet, I didn’t want to ruin it with music. When Week 5 hit, the running intervals got longer, and I needed something to distract myself from checking the clock every 10 seconds and thinking about how much it sucks to be sore and out of breath.

I started YouTubing episodes of Penn & Teller: Bullshit and speeches by Jim Rohn on my iPhone and it has made all the difference. I prefer the talk format over music because there’s no clear indication of how much time has elapsed (I find myself counting down ’til the end of each song when I’m listening to music), and it gives my brain something specific to concentrate on. Also, learning is pretty cool.

What I liked About Weeks 5 & 6

The runs vary from day to day (one day, you might be jogging for 3 and 5 minute chunks, the next 10 minutes, all the way up to 22 minute running intervals). I like the variety – especially when smaller intervals follow a day of 20 straight minutes of running.

What it Feels Like To Run for 20+ Minutes at a Time

I said my goal, from the very beginning, was to run for 20 straight minutes without dying, and it feels AMAZING to have made it to this point. It’s not easy, and for the first 7 minutes or so I kind of want to quit, but somewhere around the 8 to 10 minute mark, I get into a groove and it doesn’t seem so bad. I actually kind of like the long runs (especially with the aid of YouTube).

Keep in mind that I don’t push myself in terms of speed, which I think is what made my 20 minute intervals so bearable. I am a sloooow runner. Just to give you an accurate picture, I jog approximately 1 km in 10 minutes. Speedy Gonzales, I am not.

My Next Goal

My next goal is to run a full 5K without stopping.

4 thoughts on “Couch to 5K (C25K) – Weeks 5 & 6

    1. moragandme says:

      Boo! Injuries suck. Hope you’re feeling better!

      And thank you! Soon, you’re gonna be caught up. We should do a run together sometime.

Leave a Reply

