I Love It When Facebook Gets Preachy

Y’all know how much I love me some Facebook drama. When this image came up in my ACTUAL feed, with an ACTUAL caption of “Just something to think about,” I lost my mind and immediately screencapped that shit.

Screen Shot 2013-06-08 at 10.38.28 PM

 

Here are some things to think about:

Maybe you should do some research into the socioeconomic status of inmates and then tell me whether poverty or secular education is a better predictor of which kids end up in prison.

Why do you need the Bible to instruct kids to be good, fair, and honest? Can’t you instil a sense of right and wrong in children without appealing to religion?

Why is it up to the schools to teach kids about the Bible? Shouldn’t that be done at home? At Church?

Furthermore, why is it the school’s responsibility to raise your children? Why isn’t the onus on parents to teach their kids not to engage in criminal activity?

Why teach just the Bible? What about the Torah, the Qur’an, the Book of Mormon, the – I don’t know – the religious texts from every world religion?

Why not foster a sense of community in children, over a belief that one religion is “right” or better than another? Wouldn’t that be a more effective way to teach kids about their responsibility to each other and society at large, instead of discriminating against other faiths by forcing non-Christian public school kids to believe in the Bible?

I could go on, but you get the point. I’m no expert, but I think it’s worth looking into the real root causes of crime and thinking about how those issues can be addressed rather than  furthering your own religious agenda by mindlessly posting stupid images like this to Facebook.

4 thoughts on “I Love It When Facebook Gets Preachy

  1. carbuncle says:

    You raise some good points. But they don’t really address the hypocritical stance that the State takes when it forbids the reading of the Bible in schools but encourages it with inmates. It’s like a tacit admission of error: “Screw this religion stuff, kids can be good without it. Oh, guess that didn’t work out so well… maybe if we give it to them in prison they will reform.” It makes no sense.

    For the record, I agree that parents need to take more seriously their own role in parenting – and that includes belief systems. My beef is with the open hositility it is greeted with in schools. Who is anyone to say my kids CAN’T pray on school grounds? Isn’t that a little fascist? I mean if we’re really creating an open, tolerant society, how come people can’t tolerate a kid praying?

    And why not teach other books? Ironically, in my neck of the woods, they do. In our schools’ rush to celebrate multiculturalism, they do teach the Qu’ran, various writings of Sikh gurus and Buddhist stuff. It is all done in the name of tolerance, because kids need to (get this) understand religions in order to be tolerant of them. For some reason, this isn’t true of Christianity. They need no education there. They are forbidden to practice it.

    Your last point would be a good one if all religions really were the same. But sadly, and this has been true throughout history, all religions are not the same. Some have serious consequences societally, with respect to basic human rights. Take Sharia Law for example.

    1. moragandme says:

      I agree that it seems like a hypocritical stance on the surface, but I still don’t feel that forcing religion upon children in a public education system is right. For one, the difference between schools and prisons is the fact that schools are filled with innocent kids, who should be free to choose their own religion without having one forced upon them by the government, and prisons are filled with adults who are able to think critically, speak up, and choose a faith system for themselves.

      I know very little about the justice system in the United States when it comes to what the prisoners do once they are in jail. Is the Bible merely encouraged, or is it forced upon them? Are the inmates required to attend a religious education program or service? I feel if that if Christianity in prison is a mandatory thing, it is wrong. If Christianity is preached in public schools as a part of the curriculum, I feel the government is essentially forcing a belief system upon people, which is also wrong.

      I think it’s terrible that your children aren’t allowed to pray on school grounds, especially in a free society like the US. I, personally, have no problem with anyone practicing their faith where they choose as long as it is not infringing on anyone else’s rights, and I think everyone should be free worship as they like. I am from Canada, and I think that the school system here is a little bit different. I don’t believe anyone would have a problem if a kid said grace over their lunch or knelt somewhere in prayer, for example. I know that in my father-in-law’s music classroom, some kids are excused from the lessons specifically because their religion prohibits it. Kids are excused from school for their respective religious holidays – no matter what their religion. As far as I know, kids are free to practice their faith on an individual basis, and that’s a great thing.

      The problem comes when you make it mandatory for every student to learn about or practice one specific religion in the name of teaching good morals. The argument insinuated in that Facebook post I was referencing wasn’t that children should be taught ABOUT the Bible, but rather that they should FOLLOW the Bible. They are two very different things. I am sure when your kids were taught about the Qu’ran, for example, they were not also forced to pray to Allah in homeroom. Most people who advocate teaching kids about the Christian Faith are also advocating having all of the children pray to Jesus, and that’s where the issue lies.

      When I say that I think either all religions or no religions should be taught in schools, I mean they should be TAUGHT – not preached. Children should be taught to think critically about each religion – what teachings benefit society, what ones don’t, what morals they can learn from the teachings… In that framework, teaching kids about Sharia Law wouldn’t be a problem at all.

      I am all about separation of Church and State. When the government includes prayer or religious worship in a public education system, you are infringing on the rights of people who do not subscribe to those beliefs, and that, in my opinion, is not consistent with my idea of a free society.

      All of this being said, my main beef with that Facebook image wasn’t with the fact that they are advocating Christian religion in schools (although, that does make me a little testy – obviously), but rather that they are insinuating that Christian education would keep kids out of prison, while ignoring the systemic societal issues that, statistically, are a much better predictor of who goes to prison and why.

      Thank you for commenting! It’s nice to have some insight into how parents feel about the education system in the US. The States is kind of messed if the government is picking and choosing who can practice/learn about their religion in schools and who can’t.

Leave a Reply

