Guilty Pleasures – New Music Edition

1. Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke/T.I./Pharrell

 

Oooohmygoodness. I FINALLY checked out this song today, and I made the mistake of watching it on YouTube first. Had I just heard the song, I would have thought it was a little distasteful, but totally forgivable because I looove it, but the video… Ohmygod, the video! I was so beyond disgusted, I felt – literally – physically ill. It was like watching someone get sexually abused for someone else’s entertainment.

I feel like the entire song is a thinly veiled rape joke – you know that old ditty about  there being a blurred line between rape and surprise sex (it’s not rape if you yell “surprise”)? Yeah. That.

Dear Dipshits: when someone you want to have sex with says no, the line is very distinct – there ain’t nothing blurry about that shit. Stop. Halt. Cease what you are doing immediately.

I don’t know if my initial outrage was a normal reaction, or just me being an old woman.  I mean, it’s probably more normal than not to see this song/video as total and abject objectification of women, but then again, when I was 21, the world was in an uproar about Christina Aguilera’s Dirrty, and I didn’t (nor do I now) think it was all that risqué. Is Blurred Lines the new Dirrty? Am I that out of touch with today’s rape youth culture?

I watched a couple of Blurred Lines reaction videos on YouTube, and those girls didn’t say a single thing about Robin/T.I./Pharrell obviously disrespecting women. Not even about T.I. saying he was gonna tear her ass in two?! Whaaat?!! Am I even from Earth anymore?!

Also, Robin Thicke has a big dick? Seriously? Seriously.

That all being said, Blurred Lines is so damn catchy. I wish I didn’t love it, but I do. I’ve had the video on repeat all day, and after the 15th time or so, even I’ve become desensitized to it. #Ihatemyself #killme

 

2.  We Can’t Stop – Miley Cyrus

 

This song is pretty terrible, but the video made me love it. Miley’s awkward writhing around makes me really uncomfortable, the product placements are beyond obvious, and her twerking is unforgivable, but the teddybears more than make up for all that. They look like they’re dancing! Tee hee.

The obvious shout outs to coke and ecstasy? The grill? The excessive tongue? The Lady Gaga wannabe shots? Miley,  you’re adorable. 

Seriously, though. All I see are the teddybears. Also, I have no idea why, but I legit love that weird animated head thing.

 

3. Dirrty – Christina Aguilera

 

Nothing in this video is problematic for me.

2 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures – New Music Edition

Leave a Reply

