Bruschetta & Baking

IMG_7692Bruschetta is one of those things I’ve only ever ordered from a restaurant. It’s the epitome of fancy food in my meat-and-potatoes world; I don’t even know how to pronounce it. Then my friends gave me a basket of tomatoes from their garden that I had no clue what to do with (vegetables are a bit of a mystery to me), so I thought I’d combine them with something I know a bit about (carbs) and try my hand at bruschetta. It was surprisingly really easy and really good. I used this recipe, but replaced the parmesan cheese with feta; I totally recommend it.

My review: Loved it. Have already made it again.
Hubby’s review: Loved it.
Kids’ review: Wouldn’t touch it.

Other Recipes I Tried Recently, But Was Too Lazy to Photograph:

  • Very Special Spaghetti Sauce – Good. I give it 7/10 stars; Chase gives it 10/10; the kids mostly ate it.
  • Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch – 10/10. We love this recipe, and I have since used it for other fruit crisps (just substituting other fruit for the rhubarb and strawberries).
  • Rhubarb Muffins, with the “crisp” from this recipe – These were okay (I left out the orange zest); another recipe Chase enjoyed much more than I did. On the plus side, it cleaned out the last of the gigantic stash of rhubarb that had taken over my fridge.
Leave a Reply

