My Tips For a Healthier New Year

My only New Year’s resolution this year is to lose weight, and by lose weight, I mostly mean work out occasionally and eat like a normal, non-disordered person would eat. I don’t want to count calories or kill myself at the gym, but I do want to feel better inside and out. I want energy! I want vitality! I want a cute wardrobe (preferably the one sized 10 and under that has been collecting dust at the back of my closet for years)!

I know we are barely into the New Year, but I feel super motivated AND I already have some “healthy lifestyle” tips for you borne of exactly 3 days of personal experience. They are:

1. Get yourself a home gym

My favourite Christmas present this year was an elliptical machine that looks terrible and takes up way too much space in my living room. I love that fucking ugly thing and you know why? Because I don’t have to change out of my pjs to exercise on it, I don’t have to be coordinated to use it, no one can watch me wheeze, sweat or halfass my way through a workout, the wifi is free (insomuch as I’m paying for it anyway), and I don’t have to waste valuable time by venturing outside. Also, it doubles as a clothes rack.

I realize that a treadmill or elliptical machine is an investment, but sometimes you can find a super good deal on Kijiji or Craig’s list. Plus, few people use them for more than a couple of weeks, so you’re practically buying new anyway even when you’re shopping used. I know it also messes with the feng shui in your home, but meh. Worth it.

2. Save YouTube videos, Podcasts, etc. for your workout

Maybe this only works for me because I am a YouTube ADDICT, but I highly recommend making a “watch later” playlist and saving it for your treadmill workout. I try not to watch any YouTube videos at all unless I’m on the elliptical, and it.is.working. It gives me something to look forward to during my workouts and gives my brain something to focus on beyond how much time has elapsed and how badly exercising makes me want to die.

An added bonus is that I’m more mindful of the time I spend on YouTube and I’ve freed up a lot of time by not jumping on my subscription list every two seconds. Like, a ton of free time. I have been bored without it, actually, which brings me to….

3. Pin all the things!

Without YouTube to distract me from the banality of life, I have been relying on Pinterest to fill the void. It has proven to be a good source of inspiration. There are a plethora of fitness related tags you can filter through, or you can do what I do and obsessively pin all of the clothes you want to wear once you have reached your goal weight. It’s sick, but it will do for now until I find a healthier hobby to take up my time.

Anyway, there are all of my weight loss tips of 2015 so far. I probably should have titled this post “how to be as lazy as possible but still feel accomplished”; maybe I’ll save that for my next fitness blog.

Leave a Reply

